Braces


The post that has taken me a long time to formulate how I was going to post. I have put in the corner here as you can see a picture of what my braces look like.  I wear what they call a KAFO.

I started at the age of 18 month wearing braces to the hip, HKAFO’s  but gradually was able to move to just the KAFO as I became stronger in my hip area.

I honestly don’t remember much about learning to walk at a young age. I have been told that I was taken to PT 4 days a week. I had a great opportunity as a young child to attend Easter Seals for Preschool and they worked on helping me walk. I used the traditional under the arm crutches til the age of 11. I learned at that age to walk with forearm crutches and walk with them to this day..i know this was not a post about crutches sorry.

This post is going to be a bit short because I am not sure what  to write about walking? I guess its cause I don’t know any different, meaning walking with the braces vs walking without them.
I am not going to lie and tell you that teaching your child to walk is going to be easy cause its not. I imagine there will be “battles’ to not want to wear the braces especially in the summer time because honestly they can be hot. But I would encourage you if your child is young to put the braces on them in the beginning a few hours a day. I wear mine now from the time I get up at 7am til I go to bed at 11pm.  Again I don’t ever remember the braces bothering me they are just a part of who I am, they allow me and your child to be as independent as we can be.
As you can tell I am big on independence. Just the way I was raised I guess. I want to close with a video that I found on YouTube of someone walking with braces and crutches..Enjoy and let it be an encouragement to you. Well I could not find anyone walking with crutches so i had to settle for a walker.  I guess now a days they must start kids on walkers..back when I learned to walk in the early 70’s it was like I said the under arm crutches..oh well..its still encouraging to me to see kids up right now matter how..crutches or walkers.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Braces”

  1. Kim Neely Says:

    What a heartwarming video! I’ve seen several of this little boy as he’s grown. Thank you for your post. 🙂

    Is there a way to see others’ comments on your blog? I’m not familiar with this blog format.

  2. Marie Says:

    Kim

    I believe all you have to do is click on their name as long as it is blue. Cause that is what I did for you and it took me right to your blog..thanks for the encouraging message this morning. I am glad it was encouraging to you. Hope that suggestion helps

  3. Stephanie Says:

    That is our friend, Owen! I found him and his family through these youtube videos and now his mom and I talk often (through the internet). Owen is AMAZING. I’m going to pass this along to his mom, I’m sure she will appreciate seeing it! In response to your post-Nate will be two in June and we are working in these next few months to get him some bracing. Hopefully he will be walking with a walker before long just like his friend Owen!

    • Marie Says:

      Stephanie
      Thank you for commenting on my post. Do you have a blog? I like being able to encourage parents, who are going through what my parents went through when I was young. Give me great pleasure to encourage others to show them that living with SB is not so bad. Thank you for passing along that to Owen’s Mom. I hope she comments. I had been looking through youtube videos and found that one showing him walking. I know there are probably others out there and I will work on posting others.

  4. Jen Says:

    Hi. It’s Owen’s mom! It was fun to watch that video. I almost forget what it was like when he first started with the walker! He has grown so much! I had to laugh when I remembered how he just HAD to stop every few steps to clap for himself. He was so proud. Thanks for the blast from the past.

    This reminds me I am so behind on posting videos of him.

    I’ll work on that. Great to find your site. Stephanie told me about it.

    Jen

    • Marie Says:

      Thanks Jen
      for your post. I am glad you were not upset that i found and used Owen. I just was looking for an example for mom’s here that have kiddoes starting out to walk and he was so adorable. Please let me know when you post him walking now. How old is he? I love it that kids are still walking and not in chairs full time

  5. Susan Says:

    Wow, that was so fun to watch and brought tears to my hopeful eyes. Thank you for that video footage.

Leave a Reply

